NYC Subway Musings

I take subways in New York City everyday. Depending on the time of the day and the specific line the subways can be very crowded. During rush hour it is not uncommon to be face to face with a total stranger. If you are lucky it is a beautiful woman. You cannot live in NYC if you don’t like people.

Contrary to common misconceptions, New Yorkers are polite people. I am not being sarcastic. You should have seen New Yorkers on September 11, 2001. I was amazed to see how considerate people were to each other even under extreme stress. I watched the south tower collapse from 500 yards away. As the debris fell on us we sat down and covered our faces with our shirts and waited calmly. No one around me panicked. Then we waited for the boats to take us across the Hudson River to Jersey City. No one rushed to the boats. Men gave priority to women. It was wonderful to see that.

What I was thinking in the packed subway car this morning was that each one of us was a child of God. In each one of us there was a reflection of God, the soul. Thousand souls in a subway car hurtling through the dark tunnels of the Gotham City! A strange euphoric emotion took over me.

Few minutes later, my ego/mind rudely interrupted and started musing about one obvious question. In New York City, in a subway car, there are thousand souls. In other parts of America people are so far apart. If we think about this planet and its surroundings, the closest living being is probably light years away. Why is that?

Why is this planet so isolated? Why are we surrounded by vast empty spaces? Why is it so difficult to contact other intelligent beings of the universe?

This planet, this tiny speck in the universe is teeming with life while vast spaces around us seem to be devoid of life. Scientists are not doing a good job of communicating the fact that the biomass contained in the ocean floor is so huge that if one day life on the surface of Earth is obliterated the biomass under the oceans will go on living. Life and evolution will never stop.

I don’t know why the planets with life are separated by vast distances in the universe but I know in my heart that the entire Cosmos is a living entity. I also know that Cosmos is more than the physical universe. There are mental and spiritual realms.

Cosmos is the transformation of Being into Becoming. Cosmos is the transformation of the infinite ocean of Consciousness into infinite life. Cosmos is in constant renewal. Cosmic Life will never end.

About Suresh Emre

I have worked as a physicist at the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory and the Superconducting Super Collider Laboratory. I am a volunteer for the Renaissance Universal movement. My main goal is to inspire the reader to engage in Self-discovery and expansion of consciousness.
This entry was posted in spiritual philosophy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.