Mystic Poetry (1)

I have been thinking …
I have been thinking of the difference between water
and the waves on it. Rising,
water’s still water, falling back,
it is water, will you give me a hint
how to tell them apart?
Because someone has made up the word
“wave,” do I have to distinguish it
from water?
There is a Secret One inside us;
the planets in all the galaxies
pass through his hands like beads.
That is a string of beads one should look at with luminous eyes.

Kabir [1]

When the Day came —
The Day I had lived and died for —
The Day that is not in any calendar —
Clouds heavy with love
Showered me with wild abundance.
Inside me, my soul was drenched.
Around me, even the desert grew green.

Kabir [1]

Water in jar and jar in water
Waters both, yet separate surge;
None but the wise can see through better
Let the jar break, and the waters merge.

Kabir

Wonder,
A garden among the flames!
My heart can take on any form:
A meadow for gazelles,
A cloister for monks,
For the idols, sacred ground,
Ka’ba for the circling pilgrim,
The tables of the Torah,
The scrolls of the Quran.
My creed is Love;
Wherever its caravan turns along the way,
That is my belief,
My faith.

Ibn Arabi [1]

Kill me, my faithful friends,
For in my being killed is my life.
Love is that you remain standing
In front of your Beloved
When you are stripped of all your attributes;
Then His attributes become your qualities.
Between me and You, there is only me.
Take away the me, so only You remain.

 Hallaj [1]

Your love has wrested me away from me,
You’re the one I need, you’re the one I crave
Day and night I burn, gripped by agony,
You’re the one I need, you’re the one I crave

I find no great joy being alive,
If I cease to exist, I would not grieve,
The only solace I have is your love,
You’re the one I need, you’re the one I crave

Lovers yearn for you, but your love slays them,
At the bottom of the sea it lays them,
It has God’s images – it displays them,
You’re the one I need, you’re the one I crave

Even if, at the end they make me die
And scatter my ashes up to the sky,
My pit would break into this outcry:
You’re the one I need, you’re the one I crave

Let me drink the wine of love sip by sip,
Like Mecnun, live in the hills in hardship,
Day and night, care for you holds me in its grip,
You’re the one I need, you’re the one I crave

‘Yunus Emre the mystic’ is my name,
Each passing day fans and rouses my flame,
What I desire in both worlds is the same:
You’re the one I need, you’re the one I crave

Yunus Emre [2]

[1] from Poet Seers
[2] 2] T.S. Halman, “The Humanist Poetry of Yunus Emre”, , R.C.D. Cultural Institute, No.39, Istanbul Matbaasi, Istanbul, Turkey.

About Suresh Emre

I have worked as a physicist at the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory and the Superconducting Super Collider Laboratory. I am a volunteer for the Renaissance Universal movement. My main goal is to inspire the reader to engage in Self-discovery and expansion of consciousness.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.