Rumi’s Night of Reunion

Mevlana Jalaluddin Rumi died on Dec 17, 1273. This date is known as Sheb-i Arus (Wedding Night). Every year the 17th of December is celebrated as the night of Rumi’s reunion with his Beloved.

This poem of Rumi explains more than anything why we celebrate his death day rather than his birthday.

I died to mineral, joined the realm of plants
I died to vegetable, joined animal
I died from animal to human realm
So why fear? When has dying made me less?
In turn again I’ll die from human form
only to sprout an angel’s head and wings
and then from angel-form I will ebb away
For all things perish but the face of God
And once I’m sacrificed from angel form
I’m what imagination can’t contain.
So let me be naught! Naughtness, like a fugue
sings to me: We verily return to him. – Rumi

Life is a struggle. Remembering his 7 principles gives me strength.

1. In generosity and helping others be like a river.

2. In compassion and grace be like the sun.

3. In concealing others’ faults be like the night.

4. In anger and fury be like the dead.

5. In modesty and humility be like earth.

6. In tolerance be like the sea.

7. Either appear as you are or be as you look.

About Suresh Emre

I have worked as a physicist at the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory and the Superconducting Super Collider Laboratory. I am a volunteer for the Renaissance Universal movement. My main goal is to inspire the reader to engage in Self-discovery and expansion of consciousness.
This entry was posted in spirituality, sufism, tasavvuf and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.