The Paris Review Interviews

The Paris Review opened up its archives of the interviews with famous poets and authors. The interviews are available online free of charge.

I started reading these fascinating interviews. Each one is providing great insights into the lives of these remarkable people. When I was younger my heroes were scientists. As I get older I see why most people think of authors and poets as heroes.

In the interview with Aldous Huxley, Raymond Fraser asks him whether creative urge is a neurosis. Huxley responds by saying

“Most emphatically not. I don’t believe for a moment that creativity is a neurotic symptom. On the contrary, the neurotic who succeeds as an artist has had to overcome a tremendous handicap. He creates in spite of his neurosis, not because of it.”

Creative urge is clearly not a neurosis.

You should check out the full list at www.theparisreview.org/interviews/

My (chronological) selection is a small subset of the full list.

T.S. Eliot (1959)

Aldous Huxley (1960)

Robert Frost (1960)

Ezra Pound (1962)

Simone de Beauvoir (1965)

Saul Bellow (1966)

Allen Ginsberg (1966)

Vladimir Nabokov (1967)

John Updike (1968)

Gabriel Garcia Marquez (1981)

Nadine Gordimer (1983)

Milan Kundera (1984)

Philip Roth (1984)

E.L. Doctorow (1986)

Maya Angelou (1990)

Harold Bloom (1991)

Mario Vargas Llosa (1990)

Gunter Grass (1991)

Naguib Mahfouz (1992)

Toni Morrison (1993)

Amos Oz (1996)

Robert Bly (2000)

Orhan Pamuk (2005)

Norman Mailer (2007)

Umberto Eco (2008)

About Suresh Emre

I have worked as a physicist at the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory and the Superconducting Super Collider Laboratory. I am a volunteer for the Renaissance Universal movement. My main goal is to inspire the reader to engage in Self-discovery and expansion of consciousness.
This entry was posted in literature and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.