Klaus Kommoss

Klaus Kommoss passed away on August 3, 2012. I received the sad news on September 17, 2012. I have never met him but I considered him a friend and a mentor.

There are people in my spiritual life that I have never met but I love them. I have never seen or met Baba (Shrii Shrii Anandamurti) physically but I loved him. Baba was and still is my guru. The spiritual dimension of the human being is a great mystery. You can love someone without ever seeing that person.

In Sanskrit the word “guru” means the “dispeller of darkness.” Klaus Kommoss was a guru because his intellectual and spiritual light was far reaching. He did not have students in the traditional sense but he shared his deep insights about life with us. We are grateful.

In his essays, and blog entries he expressed his love for his wife Parvin and his fascination with the mystery of life so eloquently that it was impossible not to be inspired by his beautiful words and photographs.

He was a very special human being. I felt that he was a very old soul. In this lifetime he led a blessed existence.

Among his essays there is one that I consider a classic. I was deeply inspired by this essay titled Turning the mind on itself . I am working on a book and there is a chapter on meditation. I requested his permission to use a quote from that essay. I sent him an email on February 12, 2012. He replied on February 24, 2012 and wrote:

“It’s a pleasure to hear from you Suresh!

And it’s just as much a pleasure to give you my permission for using this quote. I couldn’t imagine a better purpose for this. It would be wonderful to see a copy of this book one day!

By the way, remember me asking you about the mysterious implausible results from CERN – speeds greater than the speed of light? I heard a few days ago that they may have found flaws in the measuring procedures – inaccurate clocks. So may be that’s what happened and the world is in order again.

We actually just arrived back at our cold and wet home in Washington. My health is giving me problems, that’s why we finally went home. I hope things will clear up here. However right now I just wonder how absolutely crazy I was to come home in winter, what was I thinking?

All the best to you”

You can start reading about Klaus and Parvin’s adventures here : http://kommoss.wordpress.com/about/

Klaus mentioned that the top 5 most viewed posts were

1. Our several homes on wheels.

2. Klaus the seaman.

3. Turning the mind on itself.

4. A house in the woods.

5. Sand dunes, sliding rocks, and hot springs.

His favorites were

Clouds are not objects.

Stillpoint Island.

A refuge in poetry.

Waves and bubbles.

To win without winning

To paddle the river down to the ocean.

The fly and I.

The Patents of Klaus Kommoss

In his writings Klaus emphasized his adventures and his philosophy of life but we should not forget his contributions as an inventor.

Patent Number Title Of Patent Date Issued
4611254 Control mechanism for a magnetic-tape-cassette apparatus September 9, 1986
4573088 Control device for the tape deck of a magnetic tape cassette apparatus February 25, 1986
4530252 Long path length mechanism for automatic insertion and ejection of an information carrier July 23, 1985
4503476 Magnetic tape-cassette apparatus comprising at least two push-buttons March 5, 1985
4481832 Test cassette for measuring the torque of a winding mandrel of a cassette-playing apparatus November 13, 1984
4471398 Magnetic-tape cassette apparatus having at least two push-buttons with a controlled overtravel September 11, 1984
4464695 Magnetic tape cassette apparatus having an over-travel pushbutton movement August 7, 1984
4434442 Automatic reverse system for tape recorder February 28, 1984
About Suresh Emre

I have worked as a physicist at the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory and the Superconducting Super Collider Laboratory. I am a volunteer for the Renaissance Universal movement. My main goal is to inspire the reader to engage in Self-discovery and expansion of consciousness.
This entry was posted in history, spiritual practice, spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.