Not all scientists are atheists

Huffpost Science (http://www.huffingtonpost.com/science/) is doing an excellent job. I congratulate their editors. Their news articles are very informative and readable. But, I have mixed feelings about their blog entries. Huffpost Science editors are very smart. They know how to maximize their page views by bringing us the hard hitting bloggers. My complaint is that these bloggers misrepresent science and scientists. The Huffpost Science is becoming a platform for atheists only.

It seems to me that science is becoming a new religion. The atheist dogma in the guise of “science” is being promoted by the smartest people on earth. After millennia of religious dogma the pendulum has swung to the other side. This means that we may have to suffer the consequences of the atheist agenda for few centuries.

I know for sure that not all scientists are atheists. I have met many scientists who are believers. I am a scientist and I believe in God. I also believe in the spiritual dimension of human beings. This means that I believe in soul. I believe that our souls are reflections of the singular Cosmic Consciousness. A typical reader of Huffpost Science may get the impression that all scientists are atheists. This is not true.

Most scientists are agnostics. When it comes to difficult questions like “What is soul?” “What is consciousness?” “Is there a spiritual dimension of human beings?” “Is there a spiritual realm?” they simply say they don’t know. This is not atheism. This is agnosticism. There is a huge difference between an atheist and an agnostic. Atheist is a dogmatic person, agnostic is not.

There are also many deists among the scientists. Deists believe that God is not interfering in the affairs of the universe. I am not a deist. I am theist. I believe that God is showering us with infinite love and God is certainly involved in the affairs of the universe. How can it be otherwise? Cosmic Consciousness is hidden in every particle of this universe!

I am theist but my personal synthesis of spiritual philosophy is quite different from organized religions. There are many scientists like me. They have been forming their personal religions and they don’t believe in organized religions anymore. It is wrong to label these scientists as atheists. Not believing in a religious dogma does not make you an atheist. You can still be theist and not believe in the religious dogma.

If there are so many theistic scientists where are they? Why are they so quiet? How come they are not writing books and articles? They are quiet because if they voice their opinion they would lose their jobs. This is the situation in the Western world.

If you just follow the Western media you would think that there are no scientists in other parts of the world. There are more than a million scientists living in Asia, Russia, Middle East and South America. What percentage of them are atheists, do you think? I would guess that only 1 percent of Turkish and Indian scientists are atheists.  A great majority of non-Western scientists are deists or agnostics but they are not atheists. So, the impression we get from the Western media is much distorted.

About Suresh Emre

I have worked as a physicist at the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory and the Superconducting Super Collider Laboratory. I am a volunteer for the Renaissance Universal movement. My main goal is to inspire the reader to engage in Self-discovery and expansion of consciousness.
This entry was posted in science, society and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.