Leaving me forever caught within your spell

Can I tell You how I love you? More than words can ever tell
Even now the blissful vision’s passing, leaving me forever caught within Your spell
The magic of Your light surrounds me, even when I cannot see
The clarion call of Your trumpets blowing, has finally come to me
Like a Fire Dragon in the darkness, Your sweet light is cast all about
May I worship You my Fire Dragon? May I fall upon my face before You God?
May I serve and play some small part in Your game? May I strike a blow for Truth?
May I be Your tool and bring to all Your light? May I sit in Your sweet lap forevermore?
None of these things do I really want my Lord, it just sounds so nice to say
Just to please You Lord that’s all I want today,
just to love You more, that much I will ask, I know I may.
Can I tell You how I love you? More than words can ever tell
Even now the blissful vision’s passing, leaving me forever caught within Your spell.

These are the lyrics to Dada Nabhaniilananda’s song “The Fire Dragon.” He wrote this song in 1976. I heard it for the first time in 1994 when I bought a CD titled “Winds of Change” from Innersong. “The Fire Dragon” was the second track in that CD. My favorite songs from that CD were “Call My Name,” “Trying to Stop the Rain,” “Winds of Change” and “The Fire Dragon.”

These devotional songs sustained my spiritual practice since 1994. I have been listening to these particular songs religiously. They inspire me. They resonate with me. I am forever grateful to Dada Nabhaniilananda.

There is so much devotional music at Innersong and there are so many other talented musicians in Ananda Marga but I can be so single-minded sometimes. Once the connection is established the love affair lasts for a long time. Dada has no idea, of course, that his music had such an effect on me. I just wanted to make a note of it.

Sometimes a single song inspires us so deeply that it stays with us forever. I envy musicians because music touches the soul. Some poems are like that too. A single poem or a single song resonates in the universe for a long time. Lucky are those who receive these songs and poems. We honor them for their gift and thank them for sharing their love with us.

There are many people who stumble upon my essays or tutorials. The vast majority of them, 99.9% percent of them (I am guessing) click away and forget about it. Maybe 0.1 percent read the whole article. A single “read” in a thousand. Most of those “read”s are for curiosity. How many people get intrigued? Out of those “intrigued” people how many get inspired? I don’t know. I will never know. Dada Nabhaniilananda never knew that he inspired me. I will never know the effects of my writings. I have no literary aspirations of course, but I do hope that I inspire a few to engage in consciousness research. This is why I write. For various reasons I am not initiating interaction with my readers but someday this situation may change and I may actively reach out.

The reason I wrote this piece is to say that a single click may be enough. A single connection may have a lasting effect.

***************************

Dada Nabhaniilananda’s music

http://www.innersong.com/artists/nabhaniilananda.htm

 

https://sureshemre.wordpress.com/index/

About Suresh Emre

I have worked as a physicist at the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory and the Superconducting Super Collider Laboratory. I am a volunteer for the Renaissance Universal movement. My main goal is to inspire the reader to engage in Self-discovery and expansion of consciousness.
This entry was posted in music, poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.