Mars Curiosity

curiosity_1http://www.jpl.nasa.gov/msl/

I watched a documentary on NASA’s Curiosity rover with teary eyes. It may be surprising for non-scientists to hear that scientists can be so emotional over a technical and scientific matter! My tears were the tears of happiness because I know what it takes to accomplish such a scientific feat. The most curious thing about humans is that we can get organized to achieve a common goal.  It is amazing that thousands of highly educated people with huge egos can get together and work towards a common goal. I experienced this with the Tevatron projects at Fermilab. I recognized the same team spirit and dedication with the Curiosity team. I congratulate them.

There is so much scientific material on the web about Mars and the latest rover Curiosity. I am not going to repeat the scientific material here.

This article is not just about the planetary science. I will voice a question many of us ask quietly but afraid to say it out loud. I will mention a taboo subject. It is not a taboo among the esoteric writers, of course, but among the scientists it is certainly a taboo.

I never write about esoteric subjects. I write about science, metaphysics and spiritual philosophy and deliberately avoid all “esoteric” subjects. Spiritual philosophy and metaphysics are not esoteric subjects in my view. If I did write about the esoteric subjects I could have more readers but I have resisted the temptation all these years. So, what is different today? Extreme emotion! That’s my answer. I will break my rule for one day and write about Mars in the context of human origins.

I am deeply interested in the origins of humans. I am familiar with all views on this subject: mythological, religious, creationist, evolutionist, intelligent design and many other views. I am also very familiar with the ancient astronaut theory and its many variants. There are so many entertaining books on the ancient astronaut theory. There was a time when I was reading this kind of books non-stop. I admit that esoteric subjects are very entertaining. People find them more interesting than the spiritual subjects but I can tell you with all honesty that at the end esotericism is just entertainment. Esoteric knowledge does not help our spiritual development. Esoteric knowledge does not have anything to say about love.

Over the years I have heard anecdotes of Baba’s comments on Mars. Since I have not heard these comments with my own ears I will not repeat them here because if it is not included in the official written versions of Anandamurti’s discourses we should not pay any attention. I scrutinized the official discourses and I could not find any hints connecting Mars to human origins. According to the official written copies of the discourses, Baba was clearly saying that humans evolved from the hominids. He pointed to australopithecine as the starting point. In many discourses he used the phrase “1 million years ago” as the time frame of the appearance of the archaic humans on earth. As to the actual cause of the sudden jump in evolution that resulted in archaic humans he kept silent.

“In my previous discourse I said that humans came onto this earth about one million years ago. But human civilization is at most fifteen thousand years old. If the first mandala [chapter] of the ancient Rgveda is accepted as the starting-point of civilization, then the age of civilization will not exceed fifteen thousand years. But the civilization of those ancient days was not like the one we see in our times. The humans of those days merely followed a few rules and regulations in certain areas – no more than that.” – Shrii Shrii Anandamurti – “Shiva both Severe and Tender” published in “Namah Shivaya Shantaya.”

“Human beings originated at a few particular points on this planet. Even without getting into a detailed discussion as to which humans appeared first and which appeared later, I can say that the origin of humankind in Rarh is very ancient.” – P.R. Sarkar – “Rarh – 1”

Regarding Mars he said: “According to old astronomy and also astrology, Mars also came out of this Earth, but it did not move around the Earth as its satellite. And that is why a name for Mars is Kuja: Shani raja Kuja mantrii (Saturn is the king, Mars is the minister). Ku means earth and Kuja means born out of ku.” – P.R. Sarkar – “Poles Shift Their Respective Positions.”

The ancient astronaut theory says that the sudden jump that resulted in the appearance of the archaic humans and later another evolutionary jump at the time of the appearance of modern humans were due to genetic engineering conducted by extra-terrestrial beings. We will never find physical evidence for this but the mythological evidence is very compelling indeed. There are many popular books on this subject. I will single out Ian Lawton’s synthesis as explained in his book “Genesis Unveiled” as the closest to my own thinking on this subject.

Regarding the Mars connection, my intuition tells me that in the solar system organic life developed on Mars first. Scientists know that there were oceans on Mars once. Before long they will discover remnants of ancient organic material on Mars.  Scientists also tell us that Mars had a magnetic field in ancient times. Magnetic field protects life on a planet from dangerous cosmic rays.

Planetary scientist Chris McKay thinks that evolution could have progressed much faster on Mars than on Earth.

“It’s possible that Mars, being smaller than the Earth, evolved more rapidly than the Earth in terms of oxygen, and that if life started on Mars, it could have reached the level of complex life faster than Earth. I’ve done calculations that suggest it could have reached a level of complex life a thousand times faster than our planet. Instead of taking two billion years for the increase of oxygen and complexity of life, on Mars this could have happened in a few million years. So on Mars we’ll look for microscopic life, but we should keep our eye open for something more interesting, more complex. It might be there. It’s worth looking for.” (http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/space/does-mars-have-life.html)

Based on all the information I have gathered over the years and my intuitive research I speculate that human beings living on Mars migrated to Earth as life on Mars was becoming unbearable. I don’t think the migration was sudden. The migration process may have taken a thousand years. I have no idea when this happened. It may have happened “1 million years ago” or much earlier. In the course of their stay on Earth they may have provided the necessary touch that resulted in the evolution of the archaic humans. This is not a far-fetched idea in my opinion.

Humans will migrate to other planets in the future. It is not so difficult to imagine that our ancestors did the same thing in the distant past.

About Suresh Emre

I have worked as a physicist at the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory and the Superconducting Super Collider Laboratory. I am a volunteer for the Renaissance Universal movement. My main goal is to inspire the reader to engage in Self-discovery and expansion of consciousness.
This entry was posted in mythology, science, society and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.