On Receptivity

800px-Ophelia_-_Hybrid_TeaImage credit

I am not an intellectual in the classic sense. I don’t read a lot of books like intellectuals do. I follow my inner voice and pursue subjects that I have some natural receptivity. I don’t think hard on the subjects. My contemplative process involves being receptive. This may sound as the ultimate laziness…maybe…but I think hard about the presentation of the ideas that I receive. There is some work involved in the presentation but the reception is effortless.

In the “Internalizing ideas and theories” article I made a distinction between the ideas received from the “outside” and the ideas received from the “inside.” In my terminology, an idea received from the “inside” is called conception. The “inside” is the supra-mental and spiritual layers of our being.

In both cases the resonance principle applies. We internalize the “outside” ideas that resonate with us. Similarly, an “inside idea” (conception) has to resonate with us to germinate. Resonance is the necessary condition for germination. This means that our background is important. The resonance is shaped and conditioned by our experiences and everything we learned in life.

I have been observing the ebb and flow of my own receptivity. Some experts argue that meditation greatly enhances receptivity. I am not very good in that department. What I observed is that receptivity (intuition) is greatly enhanced through the cultivation of Divine Love and the sweetness of the heart.

I also observed that receptivity (intuition) is inversely proportional to the size of ego. Intuition develops as ego becomes more transparent. Intuition grows as we gain mastery over ego.

Why do humans have intuition? Why do humans have ego? My short answer is that intuition is a divine gift and ego is a necessary step in human evolution.

Following the tradition of rational exposition of spirituality established by Shrii Shrii Anandamurti, I provide as many logical arguments as possible when I express my understanding of spirituality but no analytical philosopher will be satisfied with these arguments. In the domain of the ego, without the sweetness of the heart, none of the arguments of spiritual philosophy make sense. In the other extreme of the spectrum where ego is transparent, and Consciousness (Divine Love) is experienced directly spiritual philosophy is entirely redundant. Spiritual philosophy is for those of us who are on a journey from intellect to heart. When we reach home we will not need the vehicle of spiritual philosophy anymore.

About Suresh Emre

I have worked as a physicist at the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory and the Superconducting Super Collider Laboratory. I am a volunteer for the Renaissance Universal movement. My main goal is to inspire the reader to engage in Self-discovery and expansion of consciousness.
This entry was posted in spiritual philosophy, spiritual practice, spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.