Mischievous smile

I remember my college days as the happiest days of my life. I suppose this is true for most people. In my case it is curious because those years between 1977 and 1981 were the most painful years for the Turkish society. I don’t want to go through the details of that period in this article. I will write about it in the future.  Suffice it to say that the uncertainty about future was intensely felt by everyone. An amazing fact of human nature is that even under those circumstances hope remains eternal. I stayed hopeful. The young person thinks that there is time to achieve the dreams. The feelings of naive megalomania become antidotes to life’s miseries.

I don’t remember studying very hard. I was doing a double major in Electrical Engineering and Physics but I was not studying hard. I remember discussing philosophy with other kids all night. They were trying to teach me dialectic materialism. Even after all those discussions I never understood dialectic materialism. They never understood my explanations of the abstract world either. At that age, where did I get my convictions about the abstract world? I don’t know. This was before I met Ananda Marga and before I started reading Shrii Shrii Anandamurti’s spiritual philosophy.

When I read my summary and go over the paragraph

Absolute Being (Consciousness) is indescribable. Words are very limiting but in its attribute-free unmanifested state (Nirguna Brahma) Consciousness is endless, formless, limitless, dimensionless, unbounded, uncountable, innumerable, immeasurable and eternal.  Nirguna Brahma is beyond the bounds of time, space and and person. Nirguna Brahma does not come within the scope of measurement.

I remember those days and smile. This is a mischievous smile. I know exactly how a scientific materialist or physicalist would react to the paragraph above.

They would react to every word in that paragraph with indignation. Phrases like ‘Nirguna Brahma does not come within the scope of measurement’ would drive them crazy. They would describe my paragraph as total nonsense.

One day, during a heated discussion in a dormitory room in college, I suddenly realized that there is no way I can win the argument. If something does not come within the scope of measurement then there is nothing to discuss. Is there?

Since then, and especially after I started writing essays, I have been fully cognizant of the fact that I cannot convince any materialist or physicalist about the abstract world.

I keep writing about the abstract world and the spiritual dimension of human beings not to win any arguments but to experience joy. It gives me such joy to say few words about the infinite ocean of love and bliss which is Consciousness.

About Suresh Emre

I have worked as a physicist at the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory and the Superconducting Super Collider Laboratory. I am a volunteer for the Renaissance Universal movement. My main goal is to inspire the reader to engage in Self-discovery and expansion of consciousness.
This entry was posted in philosophy, spiritual philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.