Black Sea Deluge

I was born in a small town by the Black Sea. It was a coal mining town. There were breath-taking views from the plateau on top of the hills where every one lived. Nobody lived at the sea level. The lush forest and the high cliffs were beautiful. There were no beaches…just rocky cliffs. Getting to the sea level was an ordeal. The effort was worth it. I loved watching the waves pounding on the rocks. It was a type of meditation for me.

k1These photographs reflect the austere nature of the place. Please note the tunnel entrance in the photograph below. In the old days it was one of the entrances to the underground coal mines. When I was a child that entrance was closed. We played in that abandoned tunnel.

k2One of my favorite places to visit in the Black Sea region is the coastal area between Fatsa and Ordu in Turkey. The photograph below shows one of the coves I visit often. Every time I go there I am puzzled by one thing. There are many villages on top of the hills. Majority of people live in those mountain villages. But, why? This is very puzzling to me. I am not counting Fatsa and Ordu. I am talking about the population between the big towns. In recent times more people are moving to the fisherman villages but people tell me that in the old days nobody lived at the sea level.

Yalikoy_1When I heard about the Black Sea Deluge hypothesis it made sense to me because the preponderance of mountain villages along the Black Sea coast tells me that there was a terrible event in the past and this event created a subconscious – genetically encoded – fear of water among the people of the Black Sea.

“Columbia University geologists William Ryan and Walter Pitman wondered what could explain the preponderance of flood legends. Their theory: As the Ice Age ended and glaciers melted, a wall of seawater surged from the Mediterranean into the Black Sea. During the Ice Age, Ryan and Pitman argue, the Black Sea was an isolated freshwater lake surrounded by farmland. About 12,000 years ago, toward the end of the Ice Age, Earth began growing warmer. Vast sheets of ice that sprawled over the Northern Hemisphere began to melt. Oceans and seas grew deeper as a result. About 7,000 years ago the Mediterranean Sea swelled. Seawater pushed northward, slicing through what is now Turkey. Funneled through the narrow Bosporus, the water hit the Black Sea with 200 times the force of Niagara Falls. Each day the Black Sea rose about six inches (15 centimeters), and coastal farms were flooded.”  [1]

According to William Ryan and Walter Pitman, the memories of the terrified survivors were passed down through the generations and eventually became the Noah story. The map below shows how the terrified survivors migrated. Some of those people were very attached to the region. They stayed and started living in the hill tops.

Europe_diaspora_sBlackSeaFloodDeluge-nasaBlack-sea-hist

[1] http://www.nationalgeographic.com/blacksea/ax/frame.html

About Suresh Emre

I have worked as a physicist at the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory and the Superconducting Super Collider Laboratory. I am a volunteer for the Renaissance Universal movement. My main goal is to inspire the reader to engage in Self-discovery and expansion of consciousness.
This entry was posted in geology, history and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.