Those who walk in darkness shall see a great light

I wanted to share Barbara Cannon’s opening remarks at the Nobel ceremonies. This is one of the most eloquent speeches I have ever heard.

She quoted Prophet Isaiah who said “those who walk in darkness shall see a great light.” She started her lecture with this quote and made an interesting connection to the literal darkness experienced in Sweden during winter months but of course she was actually referring to darkness in the figurative sense. This is interesting because I have a written a post titled “Blessed are those who illuminate the darkness by their thoughts and ideas.” The title of my post was a quote from Haji Bektash Veli. I wrote that post to say few words about the winners of the 2013 Nobel Physics Prize François Englert and Peter W. Higgs. Barbara Cannon made her remarks at the special gathering where François Englert and Peter W. Higgs gave their Nobel lectures. I find it very interesting that Barbara Cannon and I have chosen the same theme – darkness and light – to emphasize the significance of the discovery of the Higgs field and the people who contributed to this discovery.

Barbara Cannon is the president of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences (RSAS). The link below takes you to her speech.

http://www.nobelprize.org/nobel_prizes/physics/laureates/2013/englert-lecture.html

PS: It is very unfortunate that the Nobel website removed the welcoming remarks of Barbara Cannon from the video reached by the link above. THIS IS VERY UNFORTUNATE. If you know a link to her short speech please send the link to me at sureshemre at gmail. I would actually reproduce the speech here. The text of her speech would be much appreciated as well.

About Suresh Emre

I have worked as a physicist at the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory and the Superconducting Super Collider Laboratory. I am a volunteer for the Renaissance Universal movement. My main goal is to inspire the reader to engage in Self-discovery and expansion of consciousness.
This entry was posted in inspiration, physics, science, society and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.