Is quantum state an attribute or dimension?

I think that a quantum state is a dimension. After measurement (wavefunction collapse) the eigenvalue (the specific value obtained by the measurement) is an attribute.

I have a tutorial titled “What is dimension?” but I have not written much about the definition of “attribute.” In classical physics it is conceptually difficult to distinguish “dimension” from “attribute.” But, in Quantum Mechanics it is easier to distinguish these concepts.

Dimensions are degrees of freedom before the interaction (measurement) takes place. The attributes are the specific outcomes from the interaction.

Since the “fundamental interaction” is the interaction between the cognitive and operative (creative) aspects of Consciousness (the Absolute) the outcomes (created forms) are attributes, The dimensions are the possibilities (degrees of freedom) in the cognitive aspect of Consciousness.

Attributional capacity (dimensions + attributes) is conserved during the transformations of Consciousness.

This is one of my hypotheses. If a hypothesis is to be taken seriously it needs to be demonstrated. Similar principles such as the conservation of energy have been demonstrated in many physical settings. After centuries of observations and demonstrations the principle of the conservation of energy is no longer a hypothesis,  it is now part of the scientific canon.

Well…if I can muster the energy to work on this I will some day write more about the conservation of attributional capacity. I wrote this short note to remind my friends that Quantum Mechanics is a good place to start.

So, let me take it a little further.

If a quantum state is a dimension and if the dimensions are the possibilities in the cognitive aspect of Consciousness then a quantum state is conceptually very similar to cognition.

twisting_circle_by_dave_whyte Image credit: twisting circle by Dave Whyte

About Suresh Emre

I have worked as a physicist at the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory and the Superconducting Super Collider Laboratory. I am a volunteer for the Renaissance Universal movement. My main goal is to inspire the reader to engage in Self-discovery and expansion of consciousness.
This entry was posted in mind, philosophy, physics, psychology, science and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.