The Life of the Mind in the Heart of the City

CUNY_Graduate_Center

“The Life of the Mind in the Heart of the City” is the motto of the Graduate Center in New York City. It is located in the north-east corner of the 5’th Avenue and the 34’th street. It is diagonally across the street from the Empire State Building.

The Graduate Center is an important institution. I walk past it everyday on my way home in the evenings. As I pass by the building I glance at the graduate students, professors, artists going in or coming out from the main entrance. Do they know how lucky they are?

The Graduate Center is associated with the CUNY (City University of New York) system. CUNY is not an ivory tower but the Graduate Center is. The Graduate Center faculty includes many famous scholars, philosophers, scientists and artists. Notable faculty members include historian Ervand Abrahamian, biophysicist William Bialek, composer John Corigliano, geographer David Harvey, physicist Michio Kaku, philosopher Saul Kripke, computer scientist Lev Manovich, philosopher David M. Rosenthal, and mathematician Dennis Sullivan. Economist Paul Krugman will join the faculty of the CUNY Graduate Center in August 2015.

I like ivory towers. I always wanted to be a professor at Stanford University. It seems to me that even if I resolve almost all my samskaras in this lifetime one desire will remain. I have to find a way to resolve my Stanford samskara. Seriously!

I never set foot in the Graduate Center. I should attend some of the activities that are open to public. The Graduate Center offers access to a wide range of events, including lectures, symposia, performances, and workshops.

Here’s the web page for their public programs:

https://www.gc.cuny.edu/Public-Programming

 

About Suresh Emre

I have worked as a physicist at the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory and the Superconducting Super Collider Laboratory. I am a volunteer for the Renaissance Universal movement. My main goal is to inspire the reader to engage in Self-discovery and expansion of consciousness.
This entry was posted in society and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.