Few comments on the recent Multiverse debates

mutiverseImage credit

I have been reading comments in the media saying that Multiverse theories are motivated by religious (theistic) view points. I don’t understand this argument. In my opinion, the opposite is true. The current version of Multiverse theories are motivated by an atheistic worldview.

There are different concepts of Multiverse. Max Tegmark surveyed the various concepts in his paper titled “The Multiverse Hierarchy”.

Most Multiverse advocates argue that there are uncountable number of separate universes with different natural laws. Supposedly, there is no interaction among the universes. They are completely separate. These Multiverse advocates claim that a particular set of natural laws in a particular universe is a random choice in the sense that there are uncountable number of universes and therefore enormous number of possibilities. They conclude by saying that the emergence of organic life and intelligence in this particular universe is not by intelligent design because we just happen to be in the universe where the set of natural laws produced  organic life and intelligence. They remind us that there are uncountable number of universes where no organic life or intelligence exists. Therefore this is a completely random process…they claim. Where is theism in this argument? It is clear that the argument I presented above is an atheistic argument.

What do I think about the Multiverse? I am not against the concept of Multiverse. But, I differ from the majority of Multiverse advocates because I believe there is life in every one of those separate universes. I believe that the entire Cosmos which covers the Multiverse and more is alive by definition. Then, it is a natural extension of my belief to assume that there is life in each universe.

I kept saying “I believe.” There is no science here. The so-called scientists who advocate Multiverse consisting of uncountable number of separate universes with random set of natural laws are presenting their metaphysical view. I am presenting my metaphysical view that Multiverse is full of life. Who is right? Who is wrong? We will never know because these universes are separate. Then, what is all the mania about the Multiverse? It is nothing but a sign of crisis in physics.

About Suresh Emre

I have worked as a physicist at the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory and the Superconducting Super Collider Laboratory. I am a volunteer for the Renaissance Universal movement. My main goal is to inspire the reader to engage in Self-discovery and expansion of consciousness.
This entry was posted in metaphysics, philosophy, physics and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.