Turkish Statistical Institute (TurkStat)

logo_world_statistics_day

I was born in Türkiye to Turkish parents and spent my formative years there until I moved to the United States to pursue a PhD degree in Physics. I never returned to Türkiye to work and live there but I visited every year. I never lost my interest in the affairs of the Turkic speaking societies in general and Turkish speaking Anatolian society in particular.

It is impossible to extract useful objective information from Turkish newspapers unless you are willing to spend inordinate amount of time doing comparative reading. I feel embarrassed every time I read the Turkish newspapers because they are nothing but propaganda vehicles for various ideologies and interest groups. They shamelessly manipulate facts and numbers in the name of ideological wars.

There is however a source of information about the Turkish society that I find objective and useful. The web site of the Turkish Statistical Institute (TurkStat) provides a wealth of information.

What gave me the idea to mention TurkStat? Well…today (October 20) is the World Statistics Day.

About Suresh Emre

I have worked as a physicist at the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory and the Superconducting Super Collider Laboratory. I am a volunteer for the Renaissance Universal movement. My main goal is to inspire the reader to engage in Self-discovery and expansion of consciousness.
This entry was posted in statistics, Turkish and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.