1995: The Revolutionary Year in Technology

1995_bookin April 1995 the NSFNET was retired and the United States Government no longer funded internet with public money.

In 1995 Microsoft released Windows 95. The programming language Java was introduced in 1995 as well. This was a significant event in my professional life. I started learning Java in 1995 and that led to my move from Dallas to New York City in 1997. These days I do my programming in C# but for many years Java was an important factor in my professional life.

Many other revolutionary technologies were introduced in 1995. You can consult W. Joseph Campbell’s book “1995: The Year the Future Began.” This book is reviewed by Louis Menand here. Another review of the book by Ericka Floyd can be found here.

 

About Suresh Emre

I have worked as a physicist at the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory and the Superconducting Super Collider Laboratory. I am a volunteer for the Renaissance Universal movement. My main goal is to inspire the reader to engage in Self-discovery and expansion of consciousness.
This entry was posted in history, society and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.