Nobel Prize Ceremony 2015

phys_chem_nobel_medal

I watched the 2015 Nobel Prize ceremony live this morning. I have never done this before. I maintain the Nobel Laureates in Physics but for some reason I was never interested in the audio-visual of the actual ceremony before. This year I wanted to watch it because I wanted to see Aziz Sancar (first Turkish scientist to win a Nobel Prize) receive the award. Like Sancar I was born and raised in Turkey and went through the Turkish education system. I am very proud of Sancar’s accomplishments.

Nobel Prize is not about money. It is not about respect either. These people are already very respected in their fields and they usually receive many other prizes before they are awarded the Nobel Prize.

Nobel Prize is an ego thing for sure but there is more to it. As a laureate you gain new audiences and more people pay attention to what you have to say. Nobel Prize is about influence.

About Suresh Emre

I have worked as a physicist at the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory and the Superconducting Super Collider Laboratory. I am a volunteer for the Renaissance Universal movement. My main goal is to inspire the reader to engage in Self-discovery and expansion of consciousness.
This entry was posted in society and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.