Playing catch with your father

rumi_sweetness_of_heartImage credit

Every time I watch the final scenes of the 1989 film “The Field of Dreams” I get very emotional.  Watching Ray playing catch with his father John appearing as a young man creates deep emotional waves in my mind. In those moments I remember my father who passed away in 2008, my Baba Shrii Shrii Anandamurti and my Cosmic Father.

Baseball is an American game. The concept of “playing catch with your father” deeply resonates with Americans. For people who grew up in other cultures it may not have the same emotional impact. When I was growing up in Turkey I didn’t know about baseball.  After moving here at the age of 21 and absorbing the American culture I came to appreciate the significance of baseball for Americans. It is essentially a kid’s game played by grown-ups who feel like a kid again every time they play or watch baseball.

I never played catch with my father. He was a coal mining engineer in a tiny town by the Black Sea in Turkey. We did not know about baseball. I played soccer with my friends all the time but I don’t remember playing soccer with my father. Interestingly, I could never play catch with my own son either because he had difficulties with hand-eye coordination when he was younger. So maybe there is a reason for my emotional sensitivity.

It would not be an exaggeration to say that I think about God very often. I also think about the universal teachings of all sages in all cultures saying that the core (soul) of our being is a reflection of the Cosmic Father (Cosmic Soul, Parama Purusha, God).  The idea of “playing catch” with my Cosmic Father is emotionally overwhelming. Remembrance of this creates such an overwhelming sweetness of heart.

 

 

About Suresh Emre

I have worked as a physicist at the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory and the Superconducting Super Collider Laboratory. I am a volunteer for the Renaissance Universal movement. My main goal is to inspire the reader to engage in Self-discovery and expansion of consciousness.
This entry was posted in spirituality and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.