Sugar Bliss

pi_sweetImage credit

Many people I know – especially ladies – dream about becoming pastry shop owners. This is very interesting because I also entertain similar thoughts. My sugary thoughts are often mixed with my California dreaming. Take a look at the picture in my blog banner. Can you recognize the town? It is Carmel. I used to dream about living there. Carmel has coffee shops but their pastries are not very good. My shop would offer the most creative sugary delights. In my little shop in Carmel, I would read books and think about the mysteries of the universe. This would not necessarily be a coffee shop! I can’t compete with the Starbucks and others. My little shop of sugary delights would be very unique.

I notice that this is a universal sentiment. Even people who have never baked can entertain thoughts of becoming pastry chefs. There are countless number of movies and TV series based on this theme. What is it about baking pastries and creating desserts even if you can’t eat them? I am diabetic.

Maybe this is a subconscious urge to sweeten the bitter world. As worldwide communication increases we become more aware of the grotesque injustice and suffering. Overwhelmed, we numb our feelings but at the same time we still want to do something in a small way.  Most of us are not courageous enough to fight for a better world. We are overwhelmed by the enormity of the task. Every act of kindness helps of course. Offering delightful sweets is a kind act. Some of it is vanity, some of it is genuine desire to sweeten the lives of people.

 

 

About Suresh Emre

I have worked as a physicist at the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory and the Superconducting Super Collider Laboratory. I am a volunteer for the Renaissance Universal movement. My main goal is to inspire the reader to engage in Self-discovery and expansion of consciousness.
This entry was posted in inspiration and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.