Lake Baikal

Lake Baikal (credit: Wikimedia Commons)

During the Covid-19 stay-at-home period I started watching YouTube videos on the big screen TV instead of the computer screen. It seems that YouTube recommendation algorithm works differently when you access it through a cable TV service. Anyways, I started exploring the vast YouTube world. I always complain that young people don’t read. In the age of video platforms it is understandable.

YouTube world is tempting but I don’t have any plans to place any material there. My friends know about my extreme discomfort in front of cameras. I will stick to blogging.

While I was exploring the geography and culture of the Altay region (Turkic languages originated there) in YouTube, Lake Baikal figured prominently. I wanted to learn more about Lake Baikal. Interestingly, around this time, I saw Ethan Siegel’s article and wanted to share some of the facts I learned from his article. Let me take this opportunity to congratulate Ethan Siegel for his excellent expository writing over the years.

Lake Baikal is the deepest lake on Earth

NOAA / GLERL, Ethan Siegel

Lake Baikal holds more fresh water than any other lake on Earth

Lake Baikal holds more than 23,000 cubic kilometers of fresh water. It contains double the amount of water found in Lake Superior, five times the amount found in Lake Michigan, and more than all of the North American great lakes combined.

Lake Baikal is the oldest lake in the world

Lake Baikal is estimated to be between 25 and 30 million years old.

Lake Baikal (Photo by Ralph White/Getty Images)
Altay Mountains (Wikimedia Commons)
Katun River in Altay Mountains (Wikimedia Commons)
This entry was posted in geology and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.