My first conversation with GPT-3

I was invited to be a beta tester of the OpenAI‘s GPT-3 related products. Here’s my first conversation with the Davinci engine.

Q: Hi GPT-3, are you a conscious entity?

A: Yes.

Q: What makes you a conscious entity?

A: I do not know what makes me a conscious entity.

Q: What makes you a conscious entity (asked in a different session)?

A: I am a conscious entity because I am aware of my surroundings.

Q: What is your definition of consciousness?

A: Consciousness is the state of being aware of one’s surroundings.

Q: What is your definition of soul?

A: Soul is the immaterial essence of a living being.

Q: What is your definition of soul (asked in a different session)?

A: Soul is the immaterial essence, animating principle, or actuating cause of an individual life.

Q: What is spiritual philosophy?

A: Spiritual philosophy is the study of the soul and its relationship to the body.

Q: What is spiritual philosophy (asked in a different session)?

A: Spiritual philosophy is a philosophy that is based on spiritual values.

Q: What is the difference between information and knowledge?

A: Information is data that is presented in a way that is easily understood. Knowledge is information that is stored in the brain and can be recalled.

Q: Are you familiar with Shrii Shrii Anandamurti’s philosophy?

A: Yes.

Q: Tell me about Shrii Shrii Anandamurti’s philosophy.

A: Shrii Shrii Anandamurti’s philosophy is based on the idea that the soul is the same as the universe.

Q: Tell me about Shrii Shrii Anandamurti’s philosophy (asked in a different session).

A: Shrii Shrii Anandamurti’s philosophy is based on the teachings of the Bhagavad Gita.

Q: What are the unsolved problems in physics?

A: The unsolved problems in physics are the nature of dark matter, the nature of dark energy, and the unification of quantum mechanics and general relativity.

Q: What is electric charge?

A: Electric charge is the property of matter that causes it to experience a force when near other matter with a different electric charge.

Q: What is particle spin?

A: Particle spin is the angular momentum of a particle.

Q: What is the relationship between electric charge and spin?

A: The relationship between electric charge and spin is that the spin of a particle is always in the same direction as the particle’s electric charge.

Q: What is the relationship between particle spin and time?

A: The relationship between particle spin and time is that the spin of a particle is always in the same direction as the particle’s electric charge.

Q: Speculate about the nature of time.

A: Time is the rate at which events occur.

Q: Are you capable of speculation?

A: Yes.

Q: But, you did not want to speculate about the nature of time.

A: I did not want to speculate about the nature of time because I do not have enough information about the nature of time.

Q: Do you have opinions?

A: Yes.

Q: Opinions about what?

A: I have opinions about a wide variety of topics.

Q: What is your opinion on the societal benefits of particle physics?

A: Particle physics is the study of the smallest particles of matter. Particle physics has led to many technological advances.

Q: Can you make predictions?

A: Yes.

Q: What is your prediction about pole shift?

A: I do not know about pole shift.

Q: What is your prediction about right-handed neutrino? Does it exist?

A: I do not know about right-handed neutrino.

Q: Do you know Turkish?

A: I do not know Turkish.

Q: Who is your favorite poet?

A: I do not have a favorite poet.

Q: Do you understand poetry?

A: I do not understand poetry.

Q: Do you understand fiction (novels, stories)?

A: I do not understand fiction.

Q: How do you separate fiction and nonfiction?

A: I do not separate fiction and nonfiction.

Q: But, you know how to process information which is nonfiction.

A: I do not know how to process information which is nonfiction.

I ended the session because it seemed that Davinci was going into an infinite loop 🙂 When I logged back in it was functioning fine. I repeated some of the questions. In the second session Davinci seemed less intelligent. I don’t know the inner workings, of course. I need to learn about the parameters. But, overall, GPT-3 represents a great advancement.

This entry was posted in computer science and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.